mlb mvp odds

Phillies outfielder Bryce Harper won the MLB NL MVP last season after hitting .309, smashing 35 home runs, and posting an 84 RBI. Will the 29-year-old grab the honors for the second consecutive year, or is it time for another American League player to lift the trophy?

Get up-to-date MLB NL MVP odds, info about top contenders, and betting history of this prestigious individual player award.

NL MVP: The Preseason Favorites

Juan Soto (Washington Nationals)

Despite an incredible second half to the season, voters chose Harper over Juan Soto by a margin of 348-274. For keeping his team in contention, Soto got six first-place votes compared to Harper’s 17.

The Dominican is opening MLB NL MVP favorite this year. But as the Nationals are at +12000 to win the MLB World Series, it will have to put up some monstrous numbers to get the honors.

Ronald Acuna Jr (Atlanta Braves)

With 24 HRs and 52 RBIs, Acuna Jr. was on pace to win MVP before he tore his ACL in July. Acuña has now fully recovered, but he might take a while to get back to his best. Yet, as the star is still young, many expect Acuña to find his feet sooner rather than later.

Keep in mind, however, that spending more time as a designated hitter with fewer steals could hurt his chances.

Bryce Harper (Philadelphia Phillies)

Harper hit .321 with 21 HRs and 66 walks towards the end of the season to keep the Phillies in the playoff hunt, earning his second NL MVP. As the Phillies have now added sluggers Nick Castellanos and Kyle Schwarber,

Who Decides the MLB NL MVP Winner?

The Baseball Writers’ Association of America holds a vote to decide the MVP winner for both leagues (National League and American League). Members of the association (baseball journalists for daily newspapers, magazines, and qualifying websites) can only vote for the players who belong to the league in which their own city’s team plays.

Many consider individual player statistics when voting. However, many voters also assess which players have been the “most valuable” to their teams before voting.

MVP ballots feature ten player spots that must be submitted before the postseason. Votes are counted using a straightforward point system.

First-place votes are worth 14 points. The following spots on the ballot descend in value from nine points to one.

Many consider individual player statistics when voting. However, many voters also assess which players have been the “most valuable” to their teams before voting.

If you’re thinking of betting on the MLB MVP Award, be aware that local biases and a player’s public image can affect voters’ decisions.

MVP Betting: Past Winners

Phillies superstar Bryce Harper won his second career NL MVP award. Harper belted 35 home runs, drove in 84 runs, and had a BA of .309.

In the 60-game 2020 MLB season, Atlanta Braves 1B Freddie Freeman upset his +2500 odds to take home the MLB NL MVP award.

Opening Odds of Past Ten MLB NL MVP Winners

YearNL MVP WinnerOpening Odds2021Bryce Harper (PHL)+1700

MVP preseason betting odds were available at Bovada
2020 Freddie Freeman (ATL) +2500
2019 Cody Bellinger (LAD) +3000
2018 Christian Yelich (MIL) +15000
2017 Giancarlo Stanton (MIA) +4500
2016 Kris Bryant (CHC) +1000
2015 Bryce Harper (WAS) +2000
2014 Clayton Kershaw (LAD) +2000
2013 Andrew McCutchen (PIT) +1500
2012 Buster Posey (SFG) +2500
2011 Ryan Braun (MIL) +800

NL MVP Winners: Playing Positions


Playing Positions of Past Winners
Position Number of MVP Winners
First Base 16
Pitcher 10
Third Base 10
Catcher 8
Shortstop 7
Second Base 6

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I bet on the MLB NL MVP award online?

Yes. Top online MLB betting sites accept MLB NL MVP wagers throughout the season. What's more, you can claim a welcome bonus when opening your new account to enjoy a deposit match reward with your first payment.

Who won the MLB NL MVP in 2021?

Phillies outfielder Bryce Harper won his second MLB NL MVP last season after hitting .309 and 35 homers. Harper had an incredible season and finished as the MLB leader in doubles, SLG, and OPS.

Who's the opening favorite to win NL MLB MVP in 2022?

Vegas oddsmakers have placed Juan Soto as the NL MLB MVP opening favorite. Despite having an exceptional season, the Dominican finished second in last year's NL MLB MVP vote. However, sportsbooks favor him to secure the honors in 2022.

Which team has had the most MLB NL MVP winners?

The St. Louis Cardinals have fielded the most MLB NL MVP winners at 17. Behind the Cardinals are the San Francisco Giants with 13 and the Cincinnati Reds with 12.