pga championship betting odds

The 2023 PGA Championship will take place at the historic Oak Hill Country Club (founded in 1901) in Rochester, NY starting Thursday, May 18 2023.

Betting On the PGA Championship

Online sportsbooks released futures odds for the 2022 PGA Championship after the conclusion of the 2021 edition. The odds have changed throughout the last few months to reflect outcomes of other tournaments, the inclusion of new players in competitions, and the performance of those already in the field.

Jon Rahm is currently the tournament favorite at +1000 odds, meaning a successful $10 futures bet on him to win would secure you a total return of $110 ($10 original stake + $100 winnings = $110). As the event approaches, more betting options will become available, such as on who will place in the top 5, top 10, or top 20.

First Round Leader (FRL) Bets

Usually, these golf bets become available as soon as PGA Championship organizers release the tee times. FRL bets let you place action on who you think will be the leader after the first round. These wagers can provide better odds than betting on the outright winner.

Prop Bets

Prop bets divide golfers into pools based on their world ranking, country, or other characteristics. The odds for these betting markets are affected by how competitive the specified pool is.

Head-to-Head or Three-Ball Betting Lines

These bets let you place action on whether certain golfers will do better than their competitors throughout the whole tournament or round by round. The odds for these betting options range between -200 and +200.

Straight Forecast Wagers

This betting option lets you wager on which players will finish in first and second place as a combined bet. As you need both your predictions to be correct to guarantee a winning return, they are basically a parlay. These bets are a good way to gain movement on strong favorites in a tournament with a top-heavy field, but they are less useful for the PGA Championship and other majors such as the Masters.

Each-Way Betting

Each-way bets protect you when your selection falls short of a win by finishing second, third, or anywhere else within a certain range. It consists of two bets: one on the winner and the other on the player placing. You will see a higher winning return if your chosen golfer wins the PGA Championship, but if the player places within a specified range, you would still get a payout.

Who Can Compete in the PGA Championship?

  • Every former PGA Championship winner.
  • The winners of the previous five US Opens.
  • Champions of the last five Masters.
  • Winners of the previous five Open Championships.
  • The last three champions of the Players Championships.
  • Reigning Senior PGA Champion.
  • The top 15 finishers from the previous PGA Championship (this includes ties).
  • Top 20 finishers from the last PGA Professional Championship.
  • Oficial money standings top 70 on the PGA Tour for the week before the previous year’s PGA Championship and two weeks before the current year’s tournament.
  • Members of the most recent Ryder Cup teams for the USA and Europe, so long as they’ve remained in the top 100 of the Official World Golf Ranking the week prior to the PGA Championship.
  • Any tournament winner approved by the PGA TOUR since the previous year’s PGA Championship event.

The PGA limits the number of competitors to 156 golfers each year. The organization can also invite whoever it wants to compete and fills vacancies with golfers ranked below 70th in the money standings.

Last Ten PGA Championship Winners

Year Golfer Score
2021 Phil Mickelson 282
2020 Collin Morikawa 267
2019 Brooks Koepka 272
2018 Brooks Koepka 268
2017 Justin Thomas 276
2016 Jimmy Walker 266
2015 Jason Day 268
2014 Rory McIlroy 268
2013 Jason Dufner 270
2012 Rory McIlroy 275
2011 Keegan Bradley 272

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is the 2022 PGA Championship?

This year's tournament takes place at Southern Hills Country Club in Tulsa, Oklahoma. The course has hosted the event four times before (1970, 1982, 1994, and 2007).

What are the highest and lowest scores of past PGA Championship winners?

Four champions have won at 1-over par since the PGA Championship transitioned from match play to stroke play in 1958, but none since 1976. Jay Hebert (1960), Julius Boros (1968), Gary Player (1972), and Dave Stockton (1976) are among those who have done so.

Has anyone ever won the PGA Championship twice in a row?

With his 2018 and 2019 triumphs, Brooks Koepka became the sixth individual to win back-to-back PGA Championships. In doing so, he joined Denny Shute, Leo Diegel, Gene Sarazen, Tiger Woods, and Walter Hagen.

Can I bet on the PGA Championship online?

Yes. Online betting sites provide various wagering options for this prestigious event. Use the links provided in this list of top betting sites to enjoy a generous welcome bonus when signing up today.