nba rookie of the year odds

Victor Wembanyama (San Antonio Spurs) opened as the bookmaker’s favorite to win the 2023/24 Rookie Of The Year 🏆 at the NBA Awards

French Pro basketball player Victor Wembanyama is considered by many to be one of the greatest basketball prospects of his generation, and was #1 pick by the Spurs in the 2023 NBA draft. “Wemby” opened as favorite to win this season’s ROTY award with multiple Las Vegas and online sportsbooks.

Now, all eyes will be on the rookies stepping up to the NBA for the 2022/23 Season.

Rookie of the Year Odds

NBA Awards 2023-24: Rookie of the Year
Team Odds
Victor Wembanyama (SAS) -1600
Chet Holmgren (OKC) +1200
Brandon Miller (CHA) +25000
Jaime Jaquez Jr. (MIA) +60000

Recent NBA Rookie of the Year Winners

More often than not, the first overall pick in the previous NBA draft Rookie of the Year winner. This was the case in the last two seasons.

Previous NBA ROY Winners

Stats of ROY NBA Award Winners
Year Player Nationality Team School/Prior Experience Draft Pick
2022 Scottie Barnes United States Toronto Raptors Florida State Seminoles 3 (2021)
2021 LaMelo Ball United States Charlotte Hornets Illawarra Hawks (AUS) 3 (2020)
2020 Ja Morant United States Memphis Grizzlies Murray State 2 (2019)
2019 Luka Doncic Slovenia Dallas Mavericks Real Madrid (ESP) 3 (2018)
2018 Ben Simmons Australia Philadelphia 76ers LSU 1 (2016)
2017 Malcolm Brogdon United States Milwaukee Bucks Virginia 36 (2016)
2016 Karl-Anthony Towns Dominican Republic Minnesota Timberwolves Kentucky 1 (2015)
2015 Andrew Wiggins Canada Minnesota Timberwolves Kansas 1 (2014)
2014 Michael Carter-Williams United States Philadelphia 76ers Syracuse 11 (2013)
2013 Damian Lillard United States Portland Trail Blazers Weber State 6 (2012)
2012 Kyrie Irving United States Cleveland Cavaliers Duke 1 (2011)
2011 Blake Griffin United States LA Clippers Oklahoma 1 (2009)

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the NBA Rookie of the Year (ROY)?

The National Basketball Association (NBA) hands out an award at the end season of play to the best newcomer to the league.

Some of the greatest to ever do it have won this prestigious award including Jordan, LeBron and Larry Bird.

When did the NBA ROY start?

The NBA introduced this award in the 1952 - 1953 season just before the MVP award. The very first winner of the award was Don Meineke, a forward/center for the Fort Wayne Pistons.

Who won the NBA ROY in 2022?

Scottie Barnes won the Rookie of the Year award after averaging 15.3 points, 7.5 rebounds, and 3.5 assists per game with the Toronto Raptors.

Where can I bet on the winner of the NBA ROY?

You can place a bet on the ROY via various NBA betting sites which we have researched and reviewed for your convenience.