mlb al west odds

The American League West is one of the three divisions that make up the Major League Baseball’s League, commonly referred to as MLB. The division was formed in 1969 but has had five teams since 2013.

As you might have guessed, the teams found in this division are all based on the west coast of the United States. The most successful team is the Oakland Athletics, who have won 17 divisional titles. Get the latest odds on futures bets on this MLB Division.

Which MLB teams play in the American League West

The division consists of five teams –

  • Houston Astros
  • Los Angeles Angels
  • Oakland Athletics
  • Seattle Mariners
  • Texas Rangers

Favorites: Houston Astros -170

The newest addition to the division – Houston Astros, are the favorites, and since joining from National League Central in 2013, they have won four division titles.

The 2017 World Series Champions have one of the strongest starting lineups in baseball, even after losing Carlos Correa. They still have the likes of Alex Bregman and Michael Brantley.

The Astros have a deep rotation with Justin Verlander returning from his Tommy John surgery with plenty of energy. Houston is also looking to blast off with hurlers like Framber Valdez, Cristian Javier, Luis Garcia, and Jose Urquidy.

The well-rounded team also has plenty of talent in the middle, with Ryne Stanek, Phil Maton, Blake Taylor, and Hector Neris bringing relief for Ryan Pressly – all-star closer.

Underdogs to Watch: Seattle Mariners +450

Seattle hasn’t seen the playoffs since 2001, which is the most prolonged postseason absence from any team in North American professional sports. Despite this long hiatus of anything remotely close to form, they impressed everyone at the 2021 Wild Card event, making the season’s final day.

The Mariners went diving into the Cincinnati squad and came out with Jesse Winker and infielder Eugenio Suarez via a trade. They also have a hot prospect in the shape of Jarred Kelenic, who found some great form at the close of last year’s season. Then there’s Julio Rodriguez (center fielder), who promises to be one of the best assets for the team.

Seattle has also acquired Robbie Ray – the AL Cy Young Award winner, giving them some new starting power. While the M’s might be the third-best regarding the odds, they are second best on paper – with strong pitching power. So if they pull things together as a team, we could see some upsets in the division.

Previous Winners of the American League West

While the most successful team with the number of wins in the west is the Oakland Athletics, you can’t deny that Houston has been the best team by a wide margin in recent years. The Astros won 2017, 2018, and 2019 and last season (2021), going – 4/5.

Previous American League West Division Winners
Year Team Record
2021 Houston Astros 95-67
2020 Oakland Athletics 36-24
2019 Houston Astros 107-55
2018 Houston Astros 103-59
2017 Houston Astros 101-61
2016 Texas Rangers 95-67
2015 Texas Rangers 88-74
2014 Los Angeles Angels 98-64
2013 Oakland Athletics 96-66

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the MLB American League West?

There are three divisions that make up the American League of the MLB. The West is one of these and consists of five teams on the west coast of the United States -

  • Houston Astros
  • Los Angeles Angels
  • Oakland Athletics
  • Seattle Mariners
  • Texas Rangers
Who is the opening betting favorite to win the MLB 2022 American League West?

The Houston Astros are once again this year's favorites to win the west division. The 2017 World Series Champions are fairly new to this division but have dominated in recent years, winning the title four out of the last five years.

Who won the MLB American League West last season?

The Houston Astros won last season with a 95-67 record.

How can I bet on the MLB 2022 American League West?

It's never been easier to place futures bets on the American League West Division. All you have to do is sign up for one of the various MLB sports betting sites and you can claim exclusive bonuses.