Belmont Stakes Odds, Race History, Facts & Draw Stats

Belmont Stakes Betting Odds

2021 will see the 153rd running of the Belmont Stakes. First staged in 1867, the Belmont Stakes was not run in 1911 & 1912 (cancelled due to anti-gambling legislation). It is, of course, the third leg of the Triple Crown coming two weeks after the Preakness Stakes which is traditionally staged just two weeks after the Kentucky Derby.

Belmont Stakes Odds

Here are the latest Belmont Stakes betting odds from the Bovada Sportsbook

Belmont Stakes Draw 2021

Belmont Park Facts

Triple Crown Winners

Only 13 horses have completed the Triple Crown since 1919.

Sir Barton (1919), Gallant Fox (1930), Omaha (1935), War Admiral (1937), Whirlaway (1941), Count Fleet (1943), Assault (1946), Citation (1948), Secretariat (1973), Seattle Slew (1977), Affirmed (1978), American Pharoah (2015), and Justify (2018).

By decade:

Belmont Stakes Race Facts

Belmont Stakes Draw Stats

The draw plays a vital role. Here’s where the Belmont winners have come from …       

Gate    / No. of wins

* Belmont Stake odds correct at the time of publication. All betting odds are subject to change.

Frequently Asked Questions

  • What is the history of the Belmont Stakes?

    The race was initially staged at Jerome Park Racetrack in The Bronx (built in 1866); it was financed by August Belmont Snr (and named after him). Between 1890 and 1904 the race was staged at nearby Morris Park racecourse; it was then transferred to Belmont Park, which started life as a right-handed course, in May 1905. It went left-handed in 1921.

    The race has been staged over distances ranging from 1m1f to 1m 5f but has been constant at 1m 4f since 1926.

  • Who are the previous winners of Belmont Stakes?

    • 2020 - Tiz the Law
    • 2019 - Sir Winston
    • 2018 - Justify
    • 2017 - Tapwrit
    • 2016 - Creator
    • 2015 - American Pharoah
    • 2014 - Tonalist
    • 2013 - Palace Malice
    • 2012 - Union Rags
    • 2011 - Ruler on Ice
    • 2010 - Drosselmeyer

    †  Triple crown winner